CSEAS hosts an official visit from the Embassy of the Philippines in Japan and the University of the Philippines Alumni Association, Japan (17 June, 2022)


A delegation from the Embassy of the Philippines in Japan and the University of the Philippines Alumni Association in Japan (UPAA-J) made an official visit to CSEAS on 17 June 2022. This was the first time that CSEAS has hosted a delegation from both institutions.

The Embassy delegation was led by His Excellency Jose C. Laurel V, Philippine Ambassador to Japan, Consul General Voltaire Mauricio, Consul-General in Osaka, and First Secretary and Consul Mary Joy Ramirez. UPAA-J was led by its President, Mr. Takushi Ohno. Also at the meeting were the officers of the Kyoto Association of Pinoy Scholars (KAPS). 

The purpose of the gathering was to commemorate the long-standing and productive ties between Japan and the Philippines, particularly as manifested in the growth and vitality Philippine studies scholarship at CSEAS. The Center was represented by Director Mieno, KU Vice President Kono, and CSEAS Deputy Directors Ishikawa and Okamoto. Also in attendance were eleven CSEAS faculty members and researchers who have research and teaching interests in the Philippines. 

Professor Mieno and Associate Professor Julius Bautista, who along with Dr. Kanami Namiki was the event co-organizer and Master of Ceremonies, provided a brief overview of the history of CSEAS as well as the Philippines-related research activities over the years. During the meeting, CSEAS faculty were able to share their respective research,  teaching and collaborative activities with the Embassy and UPAA-J members.   

Ambassador Laurel made a donation of several  key books on Philippine culture to the CSEAS library. This included copies of the recently published manga on the life of the Philippine national hero, Dr. Jose P. Rizal, in commemoration of his 161st birth anniversary. Following the meeting at CSEAS, Professors Mieno and Kono accompanied the Ambassador to a meeting with Kyoto University President Nagahiro MINATO.

Associate Professor Julius Bautista

Seated L-R: Consul General Voltaire D. Mauricio, Director Fumiharu Mieno, His Excellency Jose C. Laurel V, Vice President Yasuyuki Kono, UPAA-J President Mr. Takushi Ohno
Standing L-R:  UPAA-J Secretary Professor Michiko Yamashita; Embassy Staff Jackie Ong and Chihiro Watanabe, UPAA-U Vice President Mr. Kiyoshi Takeuchi, CSEAS faculty and researchers

CSEAS Director Mieno delivering his address to welcome the delegation